February 2021 YA Book Releases

Here’s a peek at February’s upcoming YA book releases.

 
Editor’s Note: We’re experimenting with a new format for our upcoming books article. How do like it? Do you prefer this over our previous lists? Drop a note in the comments to let us know. 🙂

A decade-long journey of peculiardom will come to a close when Ransom Riggs’ The Desolations of Devil’s Acre lands on shelves Feb. 23. The book, which is the final in the Miss Peregrine series is expected to be one of the biggest releases in February.

Riggs will be speaking with Bookstacked about bringing his popular series to a close — look for the interview a week before the book’s release!

It’s also worth mentioning A Court of Silver Flames — Sarah J. Maas’ highly-anticipated addition to the A Court of Thorns and Roses series. The book might not technically be YA, but we’d be wrong to leave it off the list, considering how many YA fans adore the series. The book’s cover has been of significant concern to fans.

Subscribe to Bookstacked

News. YA Book Reviews. Upcoming Releases. Monthly giveaways. Weekly. Free.

Other notable releases include The Gilded Ones from Namina Forna, a new fantasy novel that had originally been slated for a 2020 release, as well as Like Home by Louisa Onomé. Like with Riggs, Bookstacked will publish an interview with Onomé in February.

Here’s a full look at February’s other YA book releases, with a little bit about each from the publishers.

You can purchase any of the YA book on this list from Bookstacked’s BookShop storefront. We earn a commission on purchases made through Bookshop.org. Purchasing your books via our Bookshop storefront helps our website stay afloat and continue to deliver the quality bookish content we’ve been offering for free for six years. Your purchase also helps out indie book stores!


February 2

‘All the Tides of Fate’ by Adalyn Grace (Imprint)

All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace

The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All the Stars and Teeth, called “captivating” by Tomi Adeyemi, “Vicious and alluring” by Hafsah Faizal, and “phenomenal” by Adrienne Young. Now author Adalyn Grace is back with more high seas adventure in All the Tides of Fate, this electrifying fantasy, perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

Purchase


Beneath the Keep by Erika Johansen

As a kingdom descends into darkness and new alliances are forged under fire, a battle begins over a prophecy that will change the course of history in this much-anticipated stand-alone prequel to the bestselling Queen of the Tearling trilogy.

Purchase


Everything That Burns by Gita Trelease

Gita Trelease’s Everything That Burns is the transporting sequel to All That Glitters, hailed by NPR as a “soaring success”!

Purchase


Fat Chance, Charlie Vega

Coming of age as a Fat brown girl in a white Connecticut suburb is hard. Harder when your whole life is on fire, though.

Purchase


Make Up Break Up by Lily Menon

Make Up Break Up, the sparkling and heartfelt romantic comedy debut from Lily Menon.

Purchase


Muse by Brittany Cavallaro

American Royals meets The Winner’s Curse in the first book of a dazzling duology from New York Times bestselling author Brittany Cavallaro about revolution, love, and friendship in a reimagined American monarchy.

Purchase


‘The Project’ by Courtney Summers (Wednesday Books)

The Project by Courtney Summers

From Courtney Summers, the New York Times bestselling author of the 2019 Edgar Award Winner and breakout hit, Sadie, comes a sensational follow-up — another pulls-no-punches thriller about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister from a cult. The Unity Project saved my life.

Purchase


This Golden Flame by Emily Victoria

Orphaned and forced to serve her country’s ruling group of scribes, Karis wants nothing more than to find her brother, long ago shipped away. But family bonds don’t matter to the Scriptorium, whose sole focus is unlocking the magic of an ancient automaton army.

Purchase


A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen

For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial expectations, and making the perfect bao.

Purchase


What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo

Rose Szabo’s thrilling debut is a dark and thrilling novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Purchase


February 9

The Iron Raven by Julie Kagawa

Wicked faeries and fantastic danger… Welcome to book one of the new trilogy in New York Times bestselling author Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey fantasy series, as infamous prankster Puck finally has a chance to tell his story and stand with allies new and old to save Faery and the world. For fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare!

Purchase


A Pho Love Story by Loan Le

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Ugly Delicious in this funny, smart romantic comedy, in which two Vietnamese-American teens fall in love and must navigate their newfound relationship amid their families’ age-old feud about their competing, neighboring restaurants.

Purchase


As Far as You’ll Take Me by Phil Stamper

The author of The Gravity of Us crafts another heartfelt coming-of-age story about finding the people who become your home–perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli.

Purchase


‘Hot British Boyfriend’ by Kristy Boyce (HarperTeen)

Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce

This enchanting debut teen romance novel, which follows one girl across the Atlantic in a quest to find adventure, love (preferably with a guy with a cute accent), and maybe even herself, is perfect for fans of Kasie West and Stephanie Perkins.

Purchase


The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

The most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Get ready for battle.

Purchase


February 16

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas’s sexy, richly imagined series continues with the journey of Feyre’s fiery sister, Nesta.

Purchase


Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher

Sparks fly between two teens as they grapple with grief, love, and the future in this unforgettable debut novel sure to entice fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer E. Smith

Purchase


All Girls by Emily Layden

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young women as they navigate their ambitions and fears at a prestigious New England prep school, all pitched against the backdrop of a scandal the administration wants silenced.

Purchase


We Are the Fire by Sam Taylor

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor’s explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

Purchase


Reaper of Souls by Rena Barron

A prince repelled by magic. A king bent on revenge. A witchdoctor who does not walk alone. Brimming with dark magic, high stakes, and serpentine twists, the second book in Rena Barron’s thrilling YA fantasy saga is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Sabaa Tahir, and Tomi Adeyemi.

Purchase


February 23

The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs

The fate of peculiardom hangs in the balance in this epic conclusion to the #1 bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.

Purchase


‘Like Home’ by Louisa Onomé (Delacorte Press)

Like Home by Louisa Onomé

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Angie Thomas will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws both her relationships and neighborhood into turmoil.

Purchase


The Initial Insult by Mindy McGinnis

In the first book of a suspenseful YA duology, award-winning author Mindy McGinnis draws inspiration from Edgar Allan Poe and masterfully delivers a dark, propulsive mystery in alternating points of view that unravels a friendship . . . forevermore. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious!

Purchase


Some Other Now by Sarah Everett

This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the TreeEmergency Contact, and Nina LaCour.

Purchase

Do plan to pick up any of these books? Which release are you looking most forward to?

See an error on our list? Drop us an email at corrections [at] bookstacked.com.

Saul Marquez founded Bookstacked in 2014 and serves as the site's Editor-in-Chief. He primarily covers news for Bookstacked. He also co-hosts Bookmarked: A YA Book Podcast.

Bookstacked Comment Policy

We welcome respectful comments. Our only rule is to be kind. Rude, hateful and generally mean-spirited comments will be removed.

0 Comments

Leave a Reply